TiVo II: Got it connected

Last weekend I got my new TiVo connected and up and running. Physical installation was not difficult. Setup was easy – I did not need to open of the 180-page manual. In less than half an hour I had programmed the TiVo and set up the service via the web.

The TiVo has two USB slots on the back, and can connect to a wireless network using a USB Wireless device. Fortunately I had a compatible one lying around. According to the manual, TiVo requires a "setup call" using the build-in modem and a phone cable. This was a minor hassle that took about half an hour.

More later.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Trackbacks

  • By Bad. News. « Wizard Prang’s Blog on February 14, 2009 at 6:25 PM

    […] the week I hardly watch it at all; I let the TiVo do the work and catch up on the […]

  • By Dead Man Walking « Wizard Prang's Blog on October 4, 2012 at 11:23 AM

    […] the years I have paid tribute to TiVo here, here and here. I have also paid money to them to the tune of $13 per month – over $1200 in total […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

