Escape from Wal-Mart

On the way home last night, I stopped at Wal-Mart to buy some milk, as we were running out. Predictably, they had run out. I don’t know why, but this Wal-Mart in particular seems to run out of my particular brand very quickly.

I looked around for someone who could help – there’s almost always some more in the back. After a couple of minutes, one fellow came out. I stopped him and asked him if they had any more. He scratched his head and asked me to follow him.

He walked all the way to the front of the store (for some reason supermarkets like to put milk in one back corner and bread in another, so it was a long walk), past the long checkout lines, and pointed to the long line of people waiting to be served by one harried-looking individual who apparently comprised the entire Customer Service Department. I thanked him (what else could I do?) and he went on his merry way.

I stood there for five seconds of sheer incredulity before leaving the store in disgust. I went to another store that charged 26c per Carton more, but 1) had the item in stock and 2) did not make me wait.

This experience has taught me that Wal-Mart needs some new marketing slogans. Here are my suggestions.

  • Wal-Mart – Low prices, long lines.
  • Wal-Mart – We’ve got the savings if you’ve got the time.
  • Wal-Mart – Where Customers come first… eventually.
Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

