It happened to me…

I was at work, doing my thing when everything… just… FROZE. No warnings, no blue screen of Death, just…

nothing. Grumbling, I rebooted the machine, only to hear the ominous CLICK… CLICK… CLICK of a dead Hard Drive.

Fortunately We were able to find a spare Hard Drive of the same capacity that was not being used. That was the least of my worries.

Naturally, I had backups – some of which, in accordance with Murphy’s law, failed me when I needed them most.

There was also a lot of semi-important data on the HD that was not backed up and has now been lost forever. However, most of the critical stuff was recoverable. Even so, it took me over a week to the system rebuilt to the point where I could get any real work done – one of the most stressful weeks of my life.

The moral of this story is simple. When it comes to the security of your data, trust nothing and no-one. I’m an IT professional. I knew what I was doing. And even then, I almost lost everything.

It happened to me – it could happen to you.

How important is the Data on your Hard Disk?

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

