Opinion: The top ten reasons why I refuse to sign “prayer-in-schools” e-petitions

  1. The Government loves to get e-mails. Why? Because they can claim that they never received them, or that the spam filter got them. Why, so they can ignore them with impunity. Ask me how I know.
  2. Without addresses, no petition is legally valid.
  3. Since the President fought the last election as a Christian, we can safely assume that either a) He is already in favor of prayers in schools but cannot do anything about it or b) He was lying. Either way it won’t work.
  4. From a cursory reading of the constitution, I cannot see what The President can do about this within his job description.
  5. Most of us have signed identical petitions before. Signing the same petition several times – or several identical ones – invalidates all of them
  6. It occurs to me that it would be more effective to to write your Congresscritter or Senator.
  7. There is no way of knowing how many registered voters are on that petition… or even how many real people.
  8. Personally I do not believe that prayer in schools or the display of the Ten Commandments will improve either the government or the people.
  9. To my knowledge no e-mail petition has ever resulted in a change in Governmental policy. Ever.
  10. As long as there are tests, there will be prayers in public schools

Now I lay me down to rest,
I pray I’ll pass tomorrow’s Test
If I should die before I wake
That’s one less test I’ll have to take

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

