Panera no-bread

I am extremely annoyed.

My wife asked me to pick up a loaf of Honey Wheat bread from Panera on the way home.

At about 6PM,  I stopped at the Poplar Level Road store, where I was informed that they had run out of Honey wheat.

I then proceeded to the Hurstbourne/Taylor Trunk store, where they had also run out.

In desperation, I went to the Westport Road store… only to find that they did not have any either.

For one store to run out is not unusual, but as James Bond would say, “Once is Happenstance. Twice is coincidence. Three times is Enemy Action“. Would it be juvenile of me to suspect a conspiracy?

Yes, I know that any unsold bread is given away at day’s end. But I also know that that there is a reason why a Baker’s Dozen is thirteen. When customers are being turned away three hours before closing time because of bad planning, something is wrong.

As Winston Churchill would say, “Bah.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Wizard Prang  On March 26, 2008 at 9:39 AM

    The above message was sent to Panera’s Customer Service Peeps via their website.

    Three days later I got what looked like a boilerplate reply from Customer Service explaining to me that they occasionally run out of bread.

    Yes, I know that, – and made mention of it in my message – but why THREE stores ran out of the same product on the same day was not addressed, nor was I offered anything for my trouble, nor did they say that they would contact the store.

    In fact, they did not offer anything but a redundant explanation and a lame and valueless apology.

    Apparently these folks believe that Customer Service is about telling the customer “Sorry, but hard luck”

    “Bah” does not even begin to cover it.

Leave a Reply

