Tom and Jerry

While shopping in Wal-Mart on Christmas Eve, I spotted a Tom and Jerry cartoon collection on DVD.

So what is so noteworthy about this?” you enquire; I’m glad you asked. You see, on the back of the package was a warning: “Unsuitable for Children

Tom and Jerry unsuitable for children? You have got to be kidding me.

I grew up with this stuff.

  • I learned persistence (and futility!) from, Wile E Coyote, Super Genius. I also learned never to trust ACME products, but that’s another story
  • Everything I needed to know about romance I learned  from Pepe Le Pew – it must have worked, as I’m still married after 22+ years.
  • I learned about conflict, collaboration, mischief and vengeance from those co-conspirators and rivals, Tom and Jerry.
  • I learned about hunting and gun rights from Elmer Fudd… Huhuhuhuhuh!
  • I was first exposed to Classical music and Opera by cartoons. Mention Wagner’s “Ride of the valkyries” to most under-30s and you will get a blank stare. Start wailing “Kill da wabbit, kill da wabbit!” and the light bulb will soon come on.

Perhaps I am getting old, but the modern cartoons simply don’t do it for me. They all seem to be about rockets and ray guns, featuring characters with oriental eyes, spiky hair and funny-shaped heads. They also look somewhat  mass-produced; the old cartoons which had a handmade, artistic quality about them. Some of those old cartoons even won Oscars.

And now they are “unsuitable for children“.

Bah.

Now Reading: “The Car That Could”, by Michael Shnayerson

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

