Black History Month

I recently received a corporate e-mail informing me that February is “Black History Month” I have no problem with this, but two questions quickly scurried up to the front of my mind and began banging on the door.

  • When is “White History Month”? Yes, I am just kidding, but if there was one, someone would cry “racism”. Why would one be racist and not the other? Why are there “Black Leaders” and not “White Leaders”?
  • Why does Black History Month fall on the shortest month of the year? To those who seek racism under every rock and behind every tree this must be like a red rag to a bull. Where’s the outrage?

I have been a victim of racism, so I am not trying to stir up a hornets’ nest. Amid the sarcasm I am trying to make a point. We need to start thinking of ourselves as Americans first, and as black/white/yellow/whatever a distant second, if at all.

And that, as Forrest Gump would say, is all I have to say about that.

Now reading: What’s Wrong with the World, by G. K. Chesterton

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

