New Year’s Honours List

Every year, Her Majesty the Queen honours (British Queen, British spelling) those who have enriched the Nation with their success and dedication. In that spirit, I have decided that each year I have decided to donate money to those who provided the free software and resources that have made my life easier and more enjoyable over the past year. I have therefore made unsolicited donations to the following recipients:

Testdisk. While trying to repair a Windows 2000 installation on a triple-boot machine, I accidentally wiped the partition table, “erasing” over 100GB of files. After some frantic floundering, I stumbled across this program, which I used to recover the partition table and all my data.
Mozilla – for Firefox – my browser of choice.
Passwordsafe – My encrypted password repository of choice.
TightVNC – Free remote software that allows me to safely and easily access my PC from anywhere in the world.

I will be making this a yearly tradition. Gotta reward the best – that’s capitalism!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

