Galaxy SIII – First Flight

I must be the only person in the country who has had a Galaxy SIII for four days and has still not activated it.

Perhaps it is because I was not planning on this upgrade – Verizon sort of forced me into it by changing the rules. I had to upgrade if I wanted to keep my unlimited data plan and not pay full price for a new phone.

Any road up, the wee beastie arrived on Tuesday. All I have done is open the box, install the battery and charge it. I haven’t even turned it on. Partly because I want to back up everything important before switching over, partly because I was waiting for a belt holster to arrive… but mostly because I haven’t had the time to dedicate to the non-trivial task of setting up a new phone and migrating my apps and settings.

The outgoing phone is a Motorola Droid X2. A pretty big phone, it is dwarfed by the Samsung – a monster if there ever was one.

Thankfully it uses a standard micro-USB charger. I am so grateful that smartphone manufacturers have (mostly) abandoned all those silly proprietary connectors (except Apple, but we won’t go there).

Stay tuned… more later.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

