Fat of the Land

It is been a long time since I went into soapbox mode, but personal experience has made me passionate enough about this subject to speak out.

The story begins in May 2012, when I saw a video on YouTube called “Sugar, the Bitter Truth” It is a talk given by Dr. Robert Lustig, a pediatric endocrinologist who is also a Professor of Clinical Pediatrics at UCSF. In this talk, he makes the case that conventional medical wisdom, which advocates a low-fat diet as a way to avoid heart disease, is wrong.

Furthermore, he postulates that fat is not the enemy – sugar is. Fructose, which makes up half of sugar and most of High Fructose Corn Syrup, is a metabolic poison that makes us fat, gives us diabetes and heart and liver diseases, and is metabolized by a process that is remarkably similar to that of alcohol – a known poison.

To cut a long story short, I cut out all free sugar (sweets, cakes, sodas, sugar in tea and coffee, salad dressings and sauces). Four months later I had lost a little weight, but my gut had flattened and half of my trousers no longer fit me. Since then, I have fallen by the wayside many times, but that’s not a problem – I just get back on and keep on going. But even at the worst of time, my sugar consumption is a fraction of what it used to be.

But I have taken it further. If fat is not the demon that causes heart disease, why continue to avoid it? And so I have returned to full-fat milk, real butter (New Zealand is best – all the cows are grass-fed as God and Nature intended) and full-fat yogurt (very difficult to find and utterly delicious!) for the first time in decades. As an added bonus, the richness of these foods means that I consume less of them than I used to.

And I have not felt this good in years.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

